British Television

I think I like it.

Yeah, I’m probably more surprised than you to type those words, but I it’s really be growing on me.  I actually even extended my cable package to get the British British Channel (BBC).  (It wasn’t just for that, but that was one of the deciding factors.  You have to like a channel that advertises “The X-Files” as the best of American Sci-Fi.)

I used to publicly denounce TV from the UK.  It had its rare gems.  I considered “Monty Python” brilliant since my 6th grade social studies teacher used it as a teacher’s aide.  It also gave us the chance to see John Krasinski warm hearts in the American version of, “The Office.”  Then again, it has given us 2,028 seasons of, “American Idol” so maybe it’s a toss up.

My buddy, Jon, loves BritComs, and has done everything in his power to make me sit down and watch them.  I, on the other hand, have had to fake the bubonic plague numerous times in order to get out of it.  I will say, I did quite enjoy “The Vicar of Dibley,” but couldn’t sit still for an AbFab marathon.

Those saucy Brits though, they found my weak spot.  Someone must have told them about my love of watching back to back episodes at my leisure.  They must have found out that my family finally got the digical cable. (…as my grandma would say)  A trap was set for me and they bated it with science fiction – British science fiction.

And I fell in love.

The episodes seem more story based, and less relying on special effects.  Some things may have looked hokey, but there was heart in the cheese.  One show lead to another.  Then I spread out to plain dramas – even comedy.

I’m not praising everything the UK has to offer.  I still shiver at the thought of watching most things labeled “BritComs”, but I’m learning, becoming more tolerant, and enjoying this new-found source of entertainment.

I’d watch out though…I might feel the urge to break back out that English accent I thought was so spot on when I was 15.  I’m sure it’s still great 🙂

About casualtiesoflife

I'm an editor, writer, and all around creative person. Oh, also, I'm awesome.
This entry was posted in What's Up With That?!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

